Skill Level Descriptions

Knit it Now uses the Craft Yarn Council standards for Skill Levels. Use these as a guide to the difficulty of a pattern


Projects for first-time knitters using basic knit and purl stitches.
Minimal shaping.

Projects using basic stitches, repetitive stitch patterns, simple
color changes, and simple shaping and finishing.

Projects with a variety of stitches, such as basic cables and lace,
simple intarsia, double-pointed needles and knitting in the round needle
techniques, mid-level shaping and finishing.

Projects using advanced techniques and stitches, such as short rows,
fair isle, more intricate intarsia, cables, lace patterns, and numerous
color changes.


The CYCA established many yarn industry standards. Visit their website for more information about the Craft Yarn Council of America.

Posted by Sue Jalowiec on 11/05/2009 at 10:18 PM | Categories: General Info -


Write your comment

(it will not be displayed)